Gluten is my enemy

For years I’ve known competitors who were so in tune with their bodies that they could easily identify each food and how it makes their body feel, how it improves or effects performance and how it helps their body. I’ve always envied these people. If I knew my body well enough to know EXACTLY what I needed to do to get more muscle or lose fat efficiently or how it can improve my strength and cardiovascular in the gym that would be AMAZING.  Unfortunately even now after 2.5 years of trying to attain my dream physique I’m still struggling in identifying my body’s needs.

The good thing is…I’m progressing. Just the other day after never noticing it before I get a very common reaction after eating a meal. It only then hit me. I only get this reaction from my body when I’m eating certain foods. Grains!! My stomach hurt like no other and after only eating the sandwich within 10 minutes I noticed that my body felt sluggish immediately. I hadn’t had any carbs all day and that was the first time that day I really honed in on what was going on. No I don’t think I have celiac disease, but I do think that I have an intolerance to gluten.

I’m a first generation African American. Both my parents are from Nigeria and I still have a large amount of cousins, aunts and uncles still living their. Their natural diet is meat and fruit and some veggies. Grains is almost non existent or in a gluten-less form. As with most foreign countries rice is a staple food. Rice has no effect on my body negatively (unless I eat them in portions of 1 cup or more), but grains in general cause negative reactions in my body.

Once upon a time I was drawn to a specific diet that I found interesting. Of course at the time I was in the middle of my 1st prep in 2011 and I just thought it was interesting, didn’t pay it any mind. Well now based on my findings I’m beginning to think there is some truth to this diet. It’s call the Blood Type diet. It explains how based on your blood type and origin that you respond better to certain foods. Because I’m African and I have a blood type of O, I respond very well to meat, fruits and some veggies and horribly to grains other than gluten free grains like rice.

The plan now that I found all of this out?? For the next week..I’m going gluten free (or Paleo as some call it). I’m going to steer completely clear of grains that I can’t have as well as the processed foods that use them. Plain and simple. I want to see what my body does, how it feels..how it performs.

What I find ironic is that as a female bodybuilder protein is essential. What I think is hilarious is that gluten is essentially plant/grain protein. My body needs protein, but rejects plant proteins. HA HA HA.  I’m truly a carnivore. I guess bodybuilding and building mass amounts of muscle was REALLY what I was meant to do 🙂 🙂

2 responses to “Gluten is my enemy

  • Fitspiration

    I went gluten free abt 4 months ago… best decision I made, now I can tell right away when I eat gluten! Before I was getting stomach aches all the time, bloating, gas (dirrhea constipation oh yeah I said it) I never wanted to eat because it was driving me crazy!& to make matters worse you are damaging your villa in your intestines so your body is actually unable to digest nutrients and therefore you become malnourished even though you are eating! I did however grieve for a couple weeks because being vegan and gluten free makes for not a fun time LOL! But the way I feel outways the extra effort I have to make!

    • chocolatemuscle

      Lol. I have no idea what i would do if i were vegan. I’m already lactose intolerant, but i love meat and typically i would snack on it in a heart beat. So going without some carbs i don’t mind about it. Lol and you’re so nasty for talking about diarrhea ha ha ha. ❤ you Victoria

Leave a Reply

